Select Page

Board of Directors


VC-Wordmark_Short-PNGThe Board of Directors of Valley Christian Schools are Christian leaders and believers who are committed to Christian school education. Their purpose is to ensure that Valley Christian Schools fulfills its mission statement: that students know Jesus Christ as their personal Savior, live like Him, and prepare academically, physically, socially and spiritually, so they are enabled to make a difference in the world. The Board seeks God’s wisdom and guidance that His will be done at Valley Christian (2 Timothy 3:16), oversees the strategic affairs of the school, supervises the Administrator, and ensures the welfare and continued operation of the school.

The Valley Christian Board of Directors governs with an emphasis on: biblically-based integrity and truthfulness in all methods and practices; strategic leadership; clear distinction of board and Administrator roles and responsibilities; collective rather than individual decisions; future rather than past; and proactivity rather than reactivity. To do its job effectively, the Board of Directors utilizes policy governance and follows an annual agenda that includes, but is not limited to monthly meetings, monitoring the Administrator’s job performance, and a systematic review of bylaws and board policies.

The Board of Directors of Valley Christian Schools maintains a size of not fewer than five (5) and not more than twelve (12) elected members. Board members serve three-year terms, and may be re-elected to a second three-year term. The Nominating Committee will properly screen and interview, for board consideration, individuals to fill vacancies on the board or serve as new board members.

The Administrator is the board’s primary link to operational achievement and conduct, so that day-to-day operational authority and accountability of staff, as far as the board is concerned, is delegated to the Administrator.

Read more about each Board member by clicking his/her name to the right.

Officers 2019-20

Mike Rodrigues
Chairman of the Board

Marty Sawyers
Vice Chairman of the Board

Bob Davies

James Brooks


Bart Burkert

Scott Crouch

Mike DenBleyker

Melanie Dykstra

Michael Fraley

Lani Hildebrant

Alicia Shiel